Apple Sidecar Review: Can it Replace Your Drawing Tablet?




About this tutorial:

Video duration: 00:13:20
Get 50% off Mac Premium Bundle X9

Sidecar is a new features in MacOS Catalina. It turns your iPad into a second screen. As a screen it’s great. As a drawing tablet I was disappointed, it doesn’t seem like the input from the Apple pencil makes it to the Mac fast enough.
What Macs does Sidecar work with?

EMAIL NEWSLETTER:

DISCOUNTS FOR MY COURSES:…

Post Author: OfficeTutes.com

Apple lover, ICT and LEAN consultant, MS Office lecturer My other website with video tutorials - Tutorials, guides and news for iPhones and iPads

35 thoughts on “Apple Sidecar Review: Can it Replace Your Drawing Tablet?

    BeeKindRewind

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    hrmm not there yet. Doesn't mean it can never get there.

    Created by Bam

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    Has sidecar gotten any better?

    Rucky Digital

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    can side car work with both devices not online?

    Austin Belore

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    I’m still on the fence between getting a Mac book or an iPad Pro. I want a portable workstation that doubles as a drawing monitor.

    28monkeyking28

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    Does the stylus only work on certain programs from your mac?

    Dmytro Kravchenko

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    Hi, Can I use pencil with trackpad on MacBook Pro 2017??

    KAIDO WIND

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    Hey Brad & other viewers, I wanted to try sidecar with adobe animate and I'm wondering if anyone knows if there has been any improvement with sidecar and adobe apps?

    Hiltsy ArtNstuff

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    Sidecar isn’t really the problem its Adobe Photoshop that's not supported yet. Illustrator is supported and it works well. I don't like drawing in photoshop anyway, it works well for selections a crap though. I also use it a lot in InDesign, I know that sounds weird but building a magazine or laying out an advert using a stylus is just badass.
    Link for the Programs that support it: https://www.cnet.com/how-to/apple-sidecar-how-to-use-your-ipad-as-a-second-screen-for-your-mac/

    Ryan Wu

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    Use duet display (pro version). It has wireless and wired display connection for window and Mac and iOS. The pro version is basically a alternative for a Wacom cinque tablet with a iPad Pro

    t0mas.1311 -_-

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    Can you do a 10 months later review and see if it is improved

    harsh pandey

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    How else do you spell poteto?

    Hello Kitty

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    Brad please do an update on this!

    Pat Marconett

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    Great video. Are there any sidecar drawing improvements with ipad2020. I’ve been debating between a macbook+ipad & wacom mobile studio for my portable setup for a while.

    Z Hao

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    latency is still an issue!!!! Sidecar even with USB it doesn't make any difference. I used to use astropad studio, they even have smaller latency. way better than sidecar. PS on the sidecar is just a nightmare. laggy and inconsistent. Please do it better apple. This should work like a dream. Latency is still an issue never been fixed. I have mbp 15in 2017 and ipad pro 2018 these should work, but the reality it doesn't.

    gopal kalimuthu

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    Sidecar is just waste

    Jason Ferguson

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    Have you tried sidecar again since this review?

    MAN

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    does sidecar work with other styluses?

    True Cuckoo

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    I think it generally works really well. And perhaps by now some of those shortcomings already have been improved? But the biggest issue for me is that on my 2017 MacBook Pro it comes at a HUGE performance hit. To the point where it’s not useful. I’m using it for animation software like Toonboom Harmony, and After Effects. These softwares are really hard on the graphics card and CPU already, so when the software based Sidecar monitor has to capture, compress and transfer a steady monitor stream to the iPad it’s affecting the performance of those apps, and it’s slowing things down and kicking the fan up. I went back to my Cintiq today and the difference is pretty noticeable to me. Perhaps if I got a better computer with more graphics memory and power it’d work more transparently.

    Rico Sakuma

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    Video starts at 1:21

    cathie ambas

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    Can I use procreate?

    Graeme Hogg

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    I've just picked up a 2020 16gb 13" MBP. Sidecar is working very well with photoshop. Really enjoying it.

    Brian Buchmeier

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    I'm trying it in May of 2020 and can't get the zoom gestures to work. Also, the hide menu and dock buttons don't do anything. That's just what I've found right off the bat.

    Sarah Devina

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    How to activate my airplay icon on top bar?

    Brianna Mercedes

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    My laptop is literally 1 year too old to use it 🙁 lol

    thatoneguyeric

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    Is this info correct??? I just watched another video where the user was moving and clicking all over the ipad. Not sure why it doesn't work with yours.

    Sheldon Dias

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    Hey Brad has this gotten better after six months? Am thinking of getting this setup.

    Karlis Vitols

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    can sidecar be set up for lefthanded people?

    Ian Fonseca

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    What about the astropad do you like?

    PokeSang

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    The Problem: Sidecar kinda sucks
    The Solution: Just use the drawing apps on iPad and use airdrop until Sidecar gets better

    ZERO Desu

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    Can I use my finger draw? or need a apple pen

    Neil Blan

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    They're so clooooossseeee… sad really. I've got a luna but I'm tired of the monthly fee looking forward to dropping that.

    Eimar Kjøsterud Erlingsen

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    What about not connecting the iPad to the Mac?

    Bulat Gaynullin

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    How do you sleep at night promoting such garbage as OS X antivirus software?

    Z0BI

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    You should do a mid 2020 re-review of this. It seems to be a lot better through various updates

    Mark Conte

    (October 6, 2020 - 12:41 am)

    anyone have an update using the iPad Pro with a USB-c connection?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *