Microsoft Surface Go Review – $400 Entry Level Surface Windows 10 Tablet




About this tutorial:

Video duration: 18:55
Buy it at Microsoft – (affiliate link) – Microsoft’s new low cost Surface Go Windows 10 tablet corrects a lot of what I thought was wrong with their prior entry level Surface 3 tablet. It offers great performance and an excellent overall build quality. See more tablets: and subscribe!

VIDEO INDEX:
00:22 – Price and Configuration
01:03 – Hardware Overview
01:19 – Thick Bezels
01:55 – Kickstand
02:17 – Surface Pen and Keyboard
03:40 – Processor
03:58 – Storage and RAM
04:22 – Display
05:10 – Weight
05:33 – Battery Life
06:12 -…

Incoming search terms:

Post Author: OfficeTutes.com

Apple lover, ICT and LEAN consultant, MS Office lecturer My other website with video tutorials - Tutorials, guides and news for iPhones and iPads

34 thoughts on “Microsoft Surface Go Review – $400 Entry Level Surface Windows 10 Tablet

    Lon.TV

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    ERRATA: I incorrectly stated the screen resolution, it is in fact 1800 * 1200 – nice high res display. Additionally the device comes loaded with Windows 10 S edition which limits what you can install. There is a process that you can follow to turn it into regular Windows for free which you can see here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tr9Xl0gmDhA

    Matthias Rambally

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    This device is perfect …I won't be playing games on this is bc I have a high end gaming desktop at home so basically all work is done there but when I'm in school (Accountant) this fits my needs perfectly

    Boothtube

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    I’m a student with all online classes currently and want to use this. The only program I technically need is the responses lockdown program and some Microsoft word. Do you think this will be sufficient for webcam use when taking tests etc? I love the idea of tablet mode so I can write notes on my online text books or PDFs.

    unfortunate kun

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    Great content! Thank you

    armelle and nymira

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    i love that u mentioned the use of the usb c port most reviewers didn't mention the potential of it. Idk if u mentioned the SD card slot.

    Clare Held

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    I’m getting this for Christmas but I was wondering if I should spring for the pen. Does it only work with the drawing applications or could I use it like a stylus?

    The Many-Faced God

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    Proper nerdy review which I appreciate because I'm a nerd too.

    Abel Alvarez

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    if it runs dolphin emulator on that ill take two.

    Golden Vortex 16

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    You're the best Lon Seidman.

    Trendxxx12

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    I got the 8gb one, works great for my use. Really easy to hold, feels like your holding a book. I have quit using my 13" i7 laptop.

    Jesus McBeth

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    windows does have good voice features

    LocalMTB_Nation

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    when i watch this i feel like im from the 90s from your background

    ronnie tjikoeri

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    surface 3 has the perfect bezels for holding it with a thumb. when i saw the surface go that was the first thing that came to mind that windows is terrible at rejecting the thumb

    Wayne Karrick

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    So, you know nothing about tablet mode?

    Andy Mcnally

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    At 11:25 I saw "DICK" appear on screen loooooool

    Dny Choong

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    Is it sufficient for heavy OneNote use?

    longtrader782

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    Is the 4154 a single core or multi core score?

    Petr Ignatov

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    i still cant choose between new 2018 ipad and this surface go , ipad have an 2gb ram which is sad (in chip version) but ipad cpu seems to be more powerfull than surface go

    Garee Caagbay

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    Hi Lon. Do you think this product can be future proof? Like 5 or 6 years of use? If not what do you think is the maximum?

    And also, do you think 4gb ram is enough for student use? Long hours in Microsoft office (e.g. word or PowerPoint), web browsing like (5-6 tabs), playing YouTube on the background simultaneously? I'm torn between the 4 or 8gb ram and also the ssd vs emmc..but I'm also kind of tight in budget… buying the more expensive version will be fine but it would surely hurt my budget big time… sooo

    I really hope you will reply! I really need an advice. I'm asking because I find your review the most helpful among others.

    Thank you very much

    Alfredo Hutahaean

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    Can the Surface use for AutoCad. Im looking for a good device for using autocad

    Gino Guillermo

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    Great video Lon. I Have sold my Macbook Air and i'm looking to go back to Windows. I chose the Surface line coz it's made directly by Microsoft and i suppose updates will be a wee faster. I'm interested with the new Surface Go (8GB/128GB SSD) as it is compact and within my budget. But I have heard the performance and loading times is still a bit slow. and the included/bundles keyboard is soft to touch (not firm) and not backlit. I also heard The Windows 10 S that you can't install 3rd-party software. And if you opt-out of the S- mode can you still install Microsoft apps? The most i'll be doing is Word and Excel, watching Youtube and doing wireless printing. Advice please? Shall i go to the cheapest of the more powerful Surface Pro line?

    NE

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    Why does everyone touch that Windows Logo?!

    gio235rulez

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    Planning on getting this later today (I hope), I currently have a student discount which brings down the Surface Go (4gb ram + 64gb storage) with the black type cover to $479. Honestly not bad, was thinking of getting one of the other type covers but I want to save as much money as possible. Planning on using it for my online courses, light streaming and some light gaming. SD card expansion shouldn't be an issue since they go for pretty cheap (128GB micro SD card costs around $30 on Amazon). Nice review!

    Joel Rose

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    Best review I've seen – very complete and unbiased. Unlike most, you actually showed the tablet being used rather than just stating a general conclusion! Great that you reviewed the base model and not just the high-end test unit that other reviewers got. Nice to see it tested it in various use-cases like gaming, emulation, Photoshop, etc. Well done!

    Anthony C Brown

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    Great review and configuration choice. Would you consider doing a more frequent series of updates on your use of the device and impressions on long-term usability? There is considerable interest in this product and having the $399 version will get you lots of interest. Also, can you reconsider selling and not using the pen? I and others will keep the unit long-term as a replacement for our paper journals and as a new generation of iPads will soon be released, comparisons will be made. Pen/ stylus capable tablets have reinvigorated the tablet market segment that was slowing down and I'm surprised you are not using One Note and the pen-enabled features.

    Thanks for your channel and content.

    Gary Dorman

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    What controller is that? Is “heat during gaming” an issue to worry about if only playing stuff on MAME, snes etc?

    Damien Goovaerts

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    What is the controller you use with the Dolphin emulator? Good review btw 👍

    Tom B

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    Do you need the more expensive Surface Go? Probably not. https://www.windowscentral.com/review-399-surface-go-4gb
    …. Over the last few days, I've been using the 4GB model just as I did with the 8GB one, and my conclusion is this: There's just not that much difference…..

    Steven Quirk

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    Nice, thorough review! Thank you!

    S Bludger

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    One of the best reviewers. Earned my sub.

    Mark S

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    Thanks for the nice review, Lon. It appears you turned S mode off. Did you just switch to 'Home' edition or did you go with 'Pro'? Are there down sides to turning S off?

    Harrison

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    Disappointing battery life in my opinion.

    Adam Bottjen

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    Who is "We"?

    Luca Bastianello

    (December 25, 2018 - 6:46 am)

    High budget, love battery. Not so good

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *